The tale of 100 parkruns

Once upon a time, there was a girl who didn’t really like to run. She thought she was a bit overweight and probably would look a bit silly if she was seen out in public, attempting to pull off some athletic manoeuvres. Especially as they would, most likely, end up with her on her face. She had tried it before but mostly on a treadmill, indoors and away from prying eyes. If she did go outside, it was at night and in baggy clothing. And she’d walk if anyone remotely judgemental came close. And then she discovered parkrun…

Alright, I’ll come clean – this is not an imaginary tale. That girl really was me. Today I ran my 100th parkrun and was lucky enough to do this at a fantastic event launch for Torquay (blog post on that to follow!). And I adore this series of photos because it reminds me of this crazy journey I’m on, how far I’ve come and all the special people I’ve met along the way.

The first photo is of me at Albert Melbourne parkrun. It was school holidays and it was threatening to rain but I pushed on and went anyway. I’d scoped things out and chosen that one because they seemed to have such a diverse mix of speeds and I thought I probably wouldn’t be the last person. Probably. I didn’t know anyone there and was more than a little nervous as I walked up. I couldn’t have received a warmer welcome (and didn’t finish last). That photo was taken while I was lining up to have my barcode scanned (by Glynn Nicholas, no less!) and I was well and truly hooked.

It did take me a while to make it a regular habit but, very soon, I found my people at Balyang Sanctuary and thrived with their support and encouragement. The fourth picture is on our Christmas Day parkrun, the one where I did come last. And realised it wasn’t the worst thing in the world.

Most of the events in the pictures were done with friends – either home at Balyang Sanctuary or away at the many event launches and different courses I’ve run on. But there were also many where I knew no one. I wasn’t alone – you never are at parkrun and I have always felt welcome, regardless of where I happened to turn up on a Saturday morning.

There are some very special photos in the last 2 rows as my husband, possibly sick of me nagging him for 3 years, has joined in (mostly so he didn’t miss out on any more delicious breakfasts!). Having him along has made the memories even more special (and added running gear and apps to the regular topics of conversation in our household).

Looking at this photo montage seriously makes me smile – so many amazing memories and stories tied up in these 100 events. When I started on this journey, I had no idea it would lead me into a life this rich and happy and am so grateful for all that parkrun and the running community have given me. A running family and a renewed belief in my ability to do anything are amongst the most precious gifts. As well as the vision to see beyond the scales to embrace my strength, persistence and resilience.

Here’s to the next 100 ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “The tale of 100 parkruns

Leave a Reply

