Let the marathon training begin (gulp)…

This morning’s run was monumental for more than just the fact that it occurred on a weekday morning (quite unusual) – it was, officially, run #1 of training for the Dopey challenge. I say ‘officially’ as I haven’t really stopped training since, well…who knows when. I’m always training for something. But the Jeff Galloway plan starts this week so it’s now officially official.

I can tell you I’m exceptionally nervous and still very much doubt my ability to finish this thing but I’m trying to push those thoughts away and get on with it. Time to trust the plan. It definitely helps to have friends along for the ride although I need to be careful not to be sucked in to anyone else’s pace. My goal of completing this event is well and truly big enough – there will be no time goals to chase for, other than staying ahead of the balloon ladies.

This morning also marked another mini-milestone – I ran my 500th kilometre for the year. I obviously have run this far before however reaching this milestone in the final week of June puts me completely on track to complete my huge, dreaming, aim high goal of running 1000km for the year. Happy times šŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 9.36.46 pm

5 thoughts on “Let the marathon training begin (gulp)…

Leave a Reply

