training. the stuff that happens in between events.

I haven’t blogged as much this year and I think that comes down to the fact that I’m not doing as many events. This is a conscious decision – I had an absolute ball last year but the cost, both financial and in time, of doing so many events was unsustainable so I’ve cut back to some key, bigger ones.

As a result, I don’t blog as much. But I am running, more than ever in fact. Before Melbourne half marathon last year, I set up and followed a training plan on ‘My Asics‘ and am currently doing the same in preparation for the Great Ocean Road half marathon. I’m running 3 times a week with distances between 7km and 17km. And, so far, I’ve stuck to the plan.

It’s interesting to think that part of the reason I ran so many events last year was also because I wasn’t sure I could do the long runs without the motivation of a crowd, a starter’s gun and some bling at the end. Then I discovered I could. It really is more of a mental thing than a physical one. If you can get yourself to the start of a long run, you’ll make it to the finish. The start is the hardest part – getting out the door, overcoming internal struggles and doubts, being mentally ready to run for a long time. Once I’ve hit start on my Garmin, not finishing is not an option.

And so, the training continues. I won’t blog about it much but know that it’s happening anyway. These are the hardest kilometres – the ones run in the dark, the wet, when I don’t feel like it, when I’m tired after a long day at work. They’re also the best ones – feeling myself getting a little bit stronger and little bit faster, knowing that they’re all building up to a big event, feeling mentally strong through making a commitment and sticking to it. And knowing that, without all of these kilometres, running the half marathon (or the marathon next year) won’t be possible. This is where the real work happens – those events are just my victory lap.

wpid-20150927_180120.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

