Stepping up – my first shot at being a run director

From first registering, it took me about 6 months to attend my first parkrun. Little did I know then that it would become such an important part of my weekend and my life. Today I reached another milestone – I volunteered as run director at my local parkrun for the first time. And survived 🙂

I will admit to being nervous in the lead up to the event. Like anything that matters to us, I imagined all sorts of things going wrong and not knowing how to fix them. I prepared myself as much as I could and had great pre-event support and training from our Event director, Rachel.

I also had a wave of support from my fabulous running friends who headed out to You Yangs this morning. As much as I said beforehand that they were welcome not to come and see me mess up, I was definitely grateful for their friendly faces and never judgemental, unwavering support. Even during my initial run briefing wobble (where I very nearly welcomed people to the wrong parkrun – ooops!), they were standing by me and cheering me on. Most importantly, as always, they believe in me. Sometimes a lot more than I believe in myself and for that I am truly grateful. It’s very powerful to have people tell you that you can do something and actually mean it. It’s hard for the voice in your head telling you that you can’t to argue against louder external voices telling you that you can.

You_Yangs_parkrun-18-03-2017_56

This morning, voices or no voices, I did it. It all went smoothly pre and post event – a successful run or walk followed by a tasty breakfast and an uneventful processing of the results. As with so many things, the imagining of the event was much worse than just jumping in and getting it done – I enjoyed the experience and love being able to give back to an organisation that has given so much to me.

So, to my beautiful and caring running friends who either joined me in person today or sent positive thoughts and vibes my way, thank you. For being there this morning and for generally being the sort of people that are a pleasure to be around. The sort of people that make life a whole lot sunnier.

You_Yangs_parkrun-18-03-2017_42

Leave a Reply

