parkrun tourism @ port fairy

Last weekend, various running friends pointed their cars west and headed towards Port Fairy for the much anticipated parkrun launch. Port Fairy has always been a favourite spot of mine, especially as it was where I started my teaching career, so I was really looking forward to a weekend of running and frivolity in Port.

We were able to join up for dinner with a few of the others who had arrived for the Friday night and, as usual, had a great time. Each time I meet up with this group of adventurers, I’m reminded how warm, welcoming and accepting the running community is and how lucky I am to have found them.

We almost got a sleep in the next day as parkrun was only a 5 minute drive from our beach house although we headed there early to make sure we knew where to go. With plenty of parking, a clean toilet block and stunning view of the beach from the car park, the start location is great and easy to find.

Hanging out and checking out the scenery before our #parkrun launch #parkrunau #runhappy #running

A post shared by Gill (@macgirl_19) on

The briefing included a welcome from the Territory Director and a local Councillor before Run Director Kate got us ready to start. The start line is a short walk along the track and had room enough for the 137 participants.

2017-01-21_port_fairy_parkrun4

Once we started, it wasn’t long before we were headed uphill – not a huge hill but enough to remind the lungs and legs that they existed. The course is 3 laps around a meandering track in Russell Clark reserve and includes concrete path, gravel and grass. Out of all of that, I probably found the spongy grass most challenging, even though that section was flat. Don’t let me scare you off – the hills really aren’t that big and they’re compensated for by downhills. Even more than that, it’s very pretty so you are suitably distracted. And I needed it – I really, really don’t like multi-lap courses. Exactly how much I don’t like them came back to me about halfway through my last lap as I passed all the people who had already finished and were hanging out and enjoying themselves in the finish area. I put my head down and continued the slog.2017-01-21_port_fairy_parkrun6

There was certainly plenty of encouragement out on the course from volunteers and fellow parkrunners and I needed this to finish that lap and shuffle/sprint for the finish line. A big thank you to Courtney (from Warrnambool parkrun) for her support at the end – it always helps to have someone push you in those last few metres to get to the flags.

I was very happy to see all my friends again at the finish but was even happier to catch up with my husband who completed his first parkrun (after 3 years of me nagging him!) – very proud of him 🙂

Well done to all at Port Fairy – another great parkrun in the region and yet another excuse to visit this little piece of paradise.

photos taken by volunteer photographers at Port Fairy parkrun

Leave a Reply

