parkrun tourism @ You Yangs

It feels odd calling this one ‘tourism’ as it is, technically, my closest parkrun. I had run the trial and volunteered at the launch but kept intending to get back and actually run it officially…..I just hadn’t. The fact that it is less than a 10 minute drive was very appealing, particularly after a late night at the Santa run so I rocked up there on Saturday morning, feeling a little bit yawny but grateful for the sleep in.

When you look on the parkrun page, it might seem a bit confusing to find but the team put up great signage and you will have no trouble finding it once you’re in the You Yangs park. The course is amongst the trees in a mountain bike section of the park with ample parking. It is a small parkrun, still building its core of regulars but is friendly and welcoming to all, which is great as it has attracted various tourists keen to experience the unique setting.

20161210_074149.jpg

Briefing done, we were very quickly underway and off on the gentle climb up the first kilometre – looks like a very, very small incline but it seems to hurt for a long time. It is a parkrun where you have to keep your wits about you as there are quite a few mountain bike crossings (all signed) where you must give way to any bikes out on the course (although there were none when I was there).

The surface is gravel and very easy on the feet – a nice change after a few weeks of running on concrete. Also a pleasant change is being out in the bush – such a serene and tranquil setting for a parkrun.

20161210_082311.jpg

As I headed back towards the finish, I was pleasantly surprised to find my time was ok, despite feeling tired. We followed up with some breakfast at a local cafe which was absolutely delicious and a bit of a hidden delight.

In fact, that sums up this parkrun – it really is a ‘must do’ for the location and scenery as well as the chance to spot wildlife. It reminded me how lucky I am to have this in my backyard (almost literally – I can see the You Yangs while hanging out the washing) and that I should run out here more regularly. So, if you haven’t already, make a date with You Yangs parkrun. Soon. I might see you there 🙂

20161210_083422.jpg

Leave a Reply

