Talking myself into my long run

I’m linking up with Patty, Erika and Marcia for Tuesdays on the run – today’s topic is my biggest run challenge. For me, that’s an easy one – my long runs.

As I reach the peak kilometre bit of my half marathon training, my long runs are getting up to 17km. I have never been particularly friends with long runs and, now that they’re stretching out to these distances, we’re definitely not getting along. It’s not that I don’t enjoy them once I’m out there – I certainly do. It’s just getting out there that is the problem. I tend to spend the days before plotting out appropriate courses and trying to positively visualise myself on the run. I then spend the night before getting things ready so I’ll have no excuses the next day. And yet, I spend the morning finding excuses.

I’m not really sure what puts me off. It’s not exactly the distance – I run those distances regularly in events and don’t have any issue with them. I think it’s the whole issue of motivating myself. When it’s an event, once I’ve made it to the start line, I have little choice but to keep going. Long runs aren’t quite as easy – there’s always the possibility in the back of my mind that I might stop.

So, knowing all of this, I can honestly say I was actually very excited to be heading out on Sunday for my long run. I’d chosen the trails around Yarra Bend Park and had mapped out a course which I’d only run part of so it had both familiarity and new experiences. The sun was shining, the scenery was beautiful and I really didn’t need to talk myself into it – I couldn’t wait to get started.

20160925_113425-collage

The trails along the Yarra are simply gorgeous – ranging from wide footpaths to rocky single tracks and you always feel a long way from civilisation, even though you can hear the freeway from much of the trail. It is also easy to find loop tracks so you don’t have to retrace your footsteps. I can see this becoming a favourite for my long run Sundays – such a serene place and all within an hour’s drive.

 

10 thoughts on “Talking myself into my long run

  1. Michelle says:

    Do you ever do your long runs with a running buddy? I usually do my shorter runs solo, but I’ve started doing my long runs with my mum. Knowing that she’s waiting for me gets me out the door. It’s also nice to have someone to talk to because it makes the miles go so much faster!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment Michelle. I try to find a running buddy when I can & it is definitely easier when I do – not always easy to find someone who wants to run the same distance and pace! You’re so lucky to have your Mum around for your long runs!

      Like

  2. Yes and yes. I have said for years that the long runs are FAR HARDER than the race itself. That’s easy – people cheering for you and water stops and medals afterward – EASY. It’s the long and lonely miles to prepare that will get ya.

    Like

Leave a Reply

