parkrun tourism @ Diamond Creek

20160917_074325.jpgMy plans for parkrunning this morning were, quite literally, washed away by the weather gods this week. You Yangs parkrun was due to launch but had to be postponed due to that section of the park being closed from flooding. My backup plan, running at my local Balyang Sanctuary, was also no longer an option as the Barwon River popped its banks and overran our parkrun course. So, rather than sleep in, I opted to make the most of the opportunity to head off and be a tourist somewhere different and chose Diamond Creek, about an hour’s drive from home.

I arrived in perfect time, finding the place easily. I joined in with the new runners’ briefing to learn about the course then was welcomed as the only tourist at the main briefing. It is quite a popular parkrun and seems to have a very friendly atmosphere with lots of families participating.

We moved over to the start line where there were people with expected finish time signs to help us get into some sort of starting order although, as is usually the case, these weren’t particularly effective. Despite starting next to the 35 minute sign, I appeared to be behind quite a lot of walkers and had to be patient and wait to get around them as the start is over a fairly narrow bridge and around a tight turn onto the path.

20160917_090343.jpg

Once we were along the path a little, the group spread out and I found my rhythm. The course is all run on well maintained concrete paths which run alongside the creek and through the parkland – quite picturesque. You almost forget you’re in suburbia until the train comes rattling through. There are some very tiny inclines but nothing challenging and the course is very easy to follow with kilometre markings and turns permanently marked on the ground.

20160917_091239.jpg

After the turnaround, the course takes a slightly different path back, sending you up a small incline off the main path to get the required distance in.

The logistics at the finish line were very smooth with the finish funnel in place, easily handling the quite large number of parkrunners that this event attracts. I was happy to see the finish line for more than the normal reasons today – not only was I ticking off another course, I also managed to score myself a 5km PB today which I was over the moon about. I’ve been chasing any improvement to my time for 18 months now and today felt great. To celebrate I……went and ran the course again! My half marathon training plan called for a 10km today so it was good to knock this out in a different location.

Definitely a good course and a friendly bunch – I’d be more than happy to run this again, especially in the glorious sunshine we had today. Thanks to all at Diamond Creek for such a good run 🙂

20160917_090348.jpg

Leave a Reply

