More exploring on the surf coast trail

I find it harder to get myself moving and out the door for a run during school holidays. That seems really odd – after all, I have time on my hands but I think that’s actually the problem. With all that time, there’s no hurry, no need to cram a run into a small slot. I can procrastinate to my heart’s content, knowing I can always get it done later. Then later comes and I don’t feel like it.

Today was like that. I didn’t make it to parkrun yesterday so knew I needed to get out there today but couldn’t decide where. There’s a chunk of the surf coast walk I’ve wanted to do for ages (since I started on the trail a looooong time ago) but wasn’t sure if I was up to it. I let my husband convince me that I was.

This section, from Bells Beach to Ironbark Basin, is not particular challenging and is very different to the previous sections I’ve done, running inland after a very short bit of sand running. It’s a gradual climb up some steps and mild hills into the trees then it’s gentle undulations from there.

It was exactly what I needed. Closely blanketed all around by trees and bushland and with a light rain falling, it was the perfect day and perfect trail to clear my head and remind me why I do this.

 

Leave a Reply

