Reaching a milestone

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know how much a part of my life parkrun has become. Today, I reached a significant milestone in my journey – my 50th parkrun.

It has taken me 1 year and 8 months to reach that goal, not to mention having to get myself up at 6.30 on Saturday mornings, 50 times (not always easy after a tiring week at work!). Over the 250km that I’ve covered in the name of parkrun, I’ve also managed to run at 18 different courses across Australia including one in every state/territory except Northern Territory (Darwin – I’m coming!). I’ve made incredible friends, shared great times and made amazing memories that will live with me forever. I’ve endured a -2 degree parkrun as well as a few hot ones (and I much prefer the -2!!). I’ve been last and have got over my fear of it, realising it doesn’t mean anything nor is it reflective of how much I put in.

Most importantly, I’m a happier person than I was when I started and have a lot more balance in my life. Quite fittingly, a lyric jumped out at me from my playlist while I ran this morning which summed up perfectly where I am on this journey –

I am the person I’ve been looking for

Here’s to a long and happy parkrunning future!

 

4 thoughts on “Reaching a milestone

  1. I’ve only done 7 parkruns, and I joined back in 2014. At this rate I will be 80 before I hit 50 parkruns.
    Well done, wear that new parkrun shirt with pride. You earned it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

