Reflecting on 2015

At the end of last year, I set some goals so I guess it must be just about time to see how I went…

  • Finishing a half marathon 
    Done – still the proudest moment of my year. Up there in the top 3 ever 🙂
  • Reducing my 5km time. Anything closer to 30 mins will make me happy 
    A little. And it was very early in the year. My times lately have started to come back up but I’m not where I want to be
  • ‘Run sensible’ and injury free – listen to my body and do what it needs, not necessarily what I feel like 
    Mostly. The fact that I’ve run pretty much all year tells you I’m doing ok. I still get achilles niggles but am getting better at listening to them and stopping when needed.
  • Increase my running habit, gently and carefully. Aiming for 4x per week 
    Sometimes. Very much dependent on the previous goal. Sometimes I can get away with it, sometimes I can’t. However I am a lot more consistent with my running and have run more this year than I did last year.
  • Try out a trail event
    No – haven’t officially got to this yet. They still scare me a little bit. I’ve run solo on trails but haven’t yet made it to an official event.
  • Get back to my happy running weight (which was about 10kgs ago – oops!)
    Not yet but I’m moving in the right direction!
  • Run as many parkruns as I can 
    Absolutely. I’ve just clocked up #30 and have been a lot more consistent with this throughout the year.
  • Volunteer at parkrun 
    8 times & every one of them was so much fun. Not sure which I enjoy more, volunteering or running!
  • Be a parkrun tourist at any opportunity I get 
    Yes! This year, I’ve visited Toolern Creek, Altona Beach, Castlemaine, Hervey Bay, Albury-Wodonga, Bendigo and Tuggeranong so I’ve definitely made the most of touristing opportunities!
  • Most importantly, ‘run happy’ (as the lovely people at Brooks say) and remember why I run – because it clears my head, makes me smile and makes me an all-round nicer person to be around. 
    Definitely. I was at risk of losing my running mojo again recently – feeling a little burnt out and stressed about my upcoming half marathon. And then I remembered why I do it. There really is nothing quite like heading out for a run at sunset to clear your head and put a smile on your face.

Bring on 2016!

wpid-20150303_195223.jpg

Leave a Reply

