Happy birthday, Balyang Sanctuary parkrun

Balyang Sanctuary parkrun turned 3 today and I was very pleased to be able to join in the celebrations (as was my teddy bear)!

Parkrun has been such a great thing for me – not only ensuring that I fit at least a 5km run into my weekends but also introducing me to another supportive running community who I now count as great friends. Attending parkrun is a big part of my regular weekend routine and it doesn’t feel right if I’m not either running or volunteering.

We were lucky this morning to have perfect weather – not too crisp and just right for wearing our pyjamas! I felt really good on the run with only a few small niggles from my calf. I stuck to my 3/1 run/walk segments and managed to keep up a fairly consistent pace throughout. In fact, I was only 1 minute off a personal best which makes me feel like my speed is coming back up – I certainly felt strong out there today and not as tired as I have been.

2015-08-22_Balyang_Sanctuary_parkrun5

My teddy bear enjoyed the run too! And the cupcakes at the end were another good incentive to get to the finish line – yum!

Bring on another year of parkrun awesomeness 🙂

Leave a Reply

