Castlemaine parkrun launch

I’m clearly determined to fulfil my goal of being a parkrun tourist as many times as possible this year as I’ve been taking advantage of launches to get out there and support the parkrun community.

Castlemaine, which launched on 23rd May, has the disadvantage of being a few hours drive away (and required a very early start) but, luckily for me, I wasn’t alone so it turned into a fun roadtrip with new running friend Jo from my local parkrun.

After our long drive in the dark, we arrived early so headed off for a quick geocaching find before making our way to the start. It was great to meet up with other familiar faces – those hardy folk who make their way to launches, regardless of the drive involved! As well as all the very friendly locals – it seems like such a connected community who obviously enjoy being together and having fun.

The parkrun location is pretty much perfect – in a postcard worthy park, with ample toilets, parking, shelter and play area for the kids. The only downside is that it’s a 3-lap course so, if you’re slow like I am, you may feel discouraged as you watch people finishing and know you still have a lap to go!

2015-05-23_Castlemaine_parkrun5

Stunning autumnal trail through the park at Castlemaine parkrun

I don’t know if it was the cold (0 degrees when we arrived at 7.30am) or the 3-lap course but it felt hard and it wasn’t my best run. However the friendly cheers at the finish made up for it. While multi-lap courses aren’t my favourite, I’d definitely go back, just for the fantastic spirit of this event.

And, like all good launches, we followed it up with a yummy breakfast afterwards.

2015-05-23_Castlemaine_parkrun3

Jo & I enjoying breakfast after an early morning and a chilly 5km!

2 thoughts on “Castlemaine parkrun launch

Leave a Reply

