out on the trails

On Sunday, I decided to give trail running a try, something I’ve wanted to do for ages. I headed down the coast to Torquay where the Surf Coast Walk begins. Having driven the Great Ocean Road many times, I knew how stunning the scenery was down there and looked forward to getting out on the trail.

The trail starts at the end of a dirt track at Point Impossible which is a hidden spot, popular with surfers and the odd fisherman.

wpid-20150503_134023.jpg

There is a good car park and a toilet at the start of the walk along with a map and information about the trail.

wpid-20150503_134230.jpg

The first section to Torquay is 6km and starts out on this…

wpid-20150503_134223.jpg… a loooong trail disappearing into the surrounding scrubland. I had the trail to myself and felt like I was alone on the planet, with just a few birds and mysterious animals scrabbling in the bushes for company. Bliss.

After a short way, the trail joined a corrugated road which brought back some semblance of civilization in the form of a couple of cars but there was plenty of room for all of us. Still no glimpses of the ocean with a large, scrub covered sand dune between me and it. And a ‘clothing optional’ beach on the other side, if you’re into that sort of thing 🙂

wpid-20150503_135850.jpgAbout halfway along the section, I ended up at White’s Beach and hit the outskirts of Torquay, with sneaky beach views on one side and stunning beach houses on the other as I wound through the sculpted paths.

wpid-20150503_140925.jpgI really liked this section – windy enough to make me not feel like it was an endless path and with enough variety in scenery to distract me.

wpid-20150503_142949.jpgWeaving down closer to the beach, you can detour and have some sand running (if that’s your thing!) but I stuck to the path and just stopped for a picture or two.

The last part of this section takes you pretty much past the main street of Torquay and, if you were after a break, would be the perfect place to stop at one of the tempting cafes or restaurants.

wpid-20150503_143557.jpg

So, for a first trail experience, I loved it. I know it was a very tame trail but has given me a taste for it and I intend to head back and pick up where I left off, taking on the next few sections. Stay tuned for more adventures!

3 thoughts on “out on the trails

Leave a Reply

