ticking one off the bucket list

At this morning’s parkrun, I finally managed to do something I’ve wanted to do forever – I ran 5km. Without walking. I know for many of you, that’s not a big achievement, but for me it was that illusive goal that I didn’t think I’d ever reach.

I almost didn’t get out of bed – a week of work has left me feeling tired and I was tempted to sleep in. When I made it down to the river, I could see it was an absolutely beautiful morning for running and was glad I hadn’t let myself stay in bed.

11150323_10152821647437083_2044851493008598980_nOnce the starting gun went, I can’t say I had a particular plan or even an intention to run it all today. I was just trying to stick with my goal of ‘running happy’. Run when I want to, walk when I don’t. And it just happened today that I wanted to run. Even after I got tangled in the lead of one of our parkdogs, I still didn’t let it faze me and I kept running.

The only place where I even thought about walking was not too far from the finish line as that’s where I’m traditionally gathering the energy for a final burst across the finish. But I just kept plodding along steadily and had the hugest grin while I crossed the finish.

crossing the finish line & feeling amazing :)

crossing the finish line & feeling amazing 🙂

I didn’t run a PB time-wise but I really didn’t care – it wasn’t about speed today (not that it ever is for me!), it was all about running and achieving a goal I had thought I never would achieve. Even better, my foot held up well and didn’t give me pain, either during or after the run. I’m crossing my fingers that it won’t be too creaky when I wake up in the morning.

4 thoughts on “ticking one off the bucket list

  1. That’s brilliant – well done! And it’s a completely legitimate goal – I’m yet to run the whole way around the Balyang course, so I’m going to have to come back and tick that off my list! 🙂 It took me a few attempts to finally run the whole way around the St Peters course, and then the Westerfolds course, so it makes sense the same would be true for Balyang. Dem hills/bumps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

