Tackling ‘The Tan’

It’s school holidays which guarantees both that I will run more and that I will seek out different places to run, unencumbered by boring details like having to get to work on time.

Collage-the tan

‘The Tan’ is a circuit track around Melbourne’s Botanic Gardens and is an immensely popular place for runners and walkers. The 3.8km track takes in some of the beautiful sights of Melbourne, with city skyscraper glimpses, a section along the mighty Yarra River and another past the majestic Shrine of Remembrance.

So that’s where I headed yesterday afternoon. The adventure didn’t start off particularly well. I found a parking spot pretty easily but then realised I’d forgotten my wallet. Luckily for me, the parking meters could be paid for via an app on my mobile so a quick call to hubby to set that up and I was on my way.

First stop, the toilet. One thing I love about this track is that there are ample toilet facilities when you need them and they’re actually quite pretty too (as toilets go!)

Facilities nearby? Tick!

Facilities nearby? Tick!

The first part of the track is definitely the hardest – the dreaded Anderson Street hill. I’m not a fan of hills – the best thing that can be said about this one is that it doesn’t last for too long.

Around the corner is my favourite stretch of the run – past grand looking Botanic Garden gates, the Herbarium and the Shrine of Remembrance. The trees around Melbourne always look spectacular but Autumn is definitely my favourite season and the colours were starting to show yesterday. Before I knew it, I was back on the home straight – circuit done.

On my run, I saw a lot of other runners and walkers as well as footy fans on their way to the opening game for the season at the MCG. The signs along the way say that the track lighting is turned off from midnight to 5.30am so I imagine it is pretty popular at all other times. As much as I enjoyed my late afternoon run, I’d like to try it out for a dawn run as well some time, just to see the difference.

My verdict? A great place to run and I’ll definitely be back 🙂

wpid-20150402_175642.jpg

Leave a Reply

